A little while ago I got and reviewed a Headrush Bluetooth Speaker. Recently I got an opportunity to try out a plethora of Bluetooth speakers and I thought what better time to do a few more Bluetooth speaker reviews than right before Christmas .

Well one of the first Speakers I got to try was the Sony SRSBTV5, a bit of a mouth full I know. Anyway, this is quite a small speaker in comparison to the Headrush I reviewed before. The Sony speaker is small enough actually to fit in the palm of your hand and is about the same size as the Bud Light mini speakers that were inside cases of Bud Light in the past year or so, except that it has much more weight to it.
image

The way I test the speakers for volume is I not only try them at home, where I have two possibly screaming children, but I also use it in my car while driving and also at work. I think that between those last two tests its gives a good idea of the volume and versatility of the speaker especially since I work in a kitchen which is very loud.

The Sony Bluetooth speaker is actually one of the more unique speakers I’ve tested actually. Not only is it small as I mentioned before, but it actually has NFC for instant pairing with your NFC enabled device. Basically if you have NFC in your phone or tablet all you need to do is tap the top of the speaker and your device will confirm that you want to pair. Click the yes button and that’s it, your paired and ready to use the speaker. In all it takes about 3-5 seconds to tap and pair, pretty cool if you ask me.

The speaker also has the ability to act as a bluetooth speakerphone when you get calls and, although I didn’t get a lot of use of this feature, it works well enough. The battery in the device is pretty good for its size and lasted me a few days of 2-3 hours of use and uses micro USB to charge which is useful since most people have at least one of those already for another device so you don’t have to have multiple chargers.

But alas I must come to the negative part of this review. The volume. While this speaker is great at home, office or at the beach or somewhere not too loud, its not loud enough for places like a car on the highway or, for example, a kitchen with a hood vent on. While I don’t really expect something of this size to be all that powerful, for $60 I would hope for a bit more volume.

In the end I would recommend this if you have an NFC enabled device and want easy pairing and plan on using it in quieter areas. However if you don’t have an NFC enabled device you can definitely get a similar speaker for cheaper or a louder one for about the same price.

Richard R
@riche_613

