image

Ok, I know this movie has been out for just over a month now, but I thought that it got a really bad wrap so I figured I’d do a quick review for it.

G.I. Joe Retaliation was finally released at the end of June after being delayed for a year due to the studio wanting to “rework the 3d and promote the movie more to non North American markets”. The first movie came out in 2009 and although it was essentially a box office success the movie itself left a lot to be desired.

When the first movie was announced  I was super excited for it and after being at a pretty release screening for it I was sadly disappointed. Now I won’t say I hated the first movie, but it was far from good. I will give the original one thing though, it was a decent popcorn movie.

While the sequel is miles better, I can’t say its a great film. But what I can say is it does a far better justice to the G.I. Joe name than the first did. I had a lot more fun with this film. With around half or more of the original cast gone, thankfully including Marlon Waynes, they recruited a more action worthy cast. The two that, obviously, stand out the most from the new cast members are Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and Bruce willis, who play Roadblock and Gen. Joseph Colton respectively.

Not only is the action in this movie better, and almost non stop, but the plot itself is much better. While I won’t get into too much detail I have to say the “Zeus weapons”, effectively satellites that basically drop shit from space to deliver the same destruction as a nuclear bomb with no fallout, are not only cool but actually kind of brilliant. And the weapons and especially vehicles in this movie seem almost right out of the cartoon from the 80s. And by the way, they got Cobra Commanders helmet right this time around. In the original movie his helmet looked nothing like it did from the comics, toys or cartoon. This time around its about as perfect as you can get for a movie adaptation.

For me, I would honestly give this movie a 6/10 a much better effort and fun to watch. The movie is basically carried by The Rock though after being passed the torch by Channing Tatum. Perhaps the most amazing part about this movie though is the new life it seems to have breathed into the franchise, actually I’m excited now after reading that they talking about a third movie with The Rock expressing a desire to return as Roadblock again but the director Jon M Chu will most likely return as well. And even more awesome, though far less likely to actually happen I’m sure, the producer Lorenzo do Bonaventura say he would be willing and like to see a G.I. Joe and Transformers crossover movie.

Though I think its unlikely that this would happen, but with Transformers 4 on the way and Joe 3 a possibility maybe we could see the Joes make an appearance in Transformers 5 as the human military that helps the Transformers. I guess all we can do is hope at this point, but at least its something to dream about.

In the end I enjoyed this movie more than I thought I would after seeing reviews for it. It was a fun action pack time and you can’t go wrong with The Rock and Bruce Willis. I say give it a watch and see for yourself.

Richard
@riche613

