I started blogging back in 2009 after being inspired by podcasts like the /Filmcast and the totally rad show. I started a movie and TV review blog called Juice box Cafe on podbean and shortly after bought my own domain and site so I had juiceboxcafe.com.  After attending many premiers and pre release showings of movies plus a few take down notices from movie studios due to posting reviews before movies were released i started to slow down on my blogging.

Then i started getting a lot of recording hardware and started to record live bands at different bars and clubs around the city. With my blogging at an all time low and my experience with recording bands I decided to attempt to start juice box cafe as a podcast with a friend. Unfortunately both my friends and my schedule never really went together as well as the fact that we like to drink(probably too much) while podcasting it didn’t really get too far. Soon after life got in the way and my site and recording took a backseat.

Fast forward to August 2011. Me my wife and six month old son decided to go to Fan Expo in Toronto and got invited to do a supplemental episode of The Atomic Geeks with Micheal DiGiovanni. It was awesome! I had been listening to the geeks for a few years and after appearing on an episode I was determined to do a podcast. I spent the next year coming up with ideas and eventually decided to see if I could shoot my podcast idea to the geeks to be apart of their network.

The original podcast idea went over fairly well but after talking to the geeks and sending and email to fellow Tag listener E.T. I decided to change the format. That’s when Geek Fallout came into being. With E.T helping me iron out the final outline we decided we needed a third host, so we got ahold of Chris Lockhart. As it turned out he was working on his own addition to the network, The The Random Nerdness Podcast based on his blog, but was still interested in being apart of our news podcast.

After recording a three and a half hour pilot and deciding to vastly change and shorten the show and outline our friend E.T told us he did not have time to do a podcast. So Chris and I got ahold of Jeff Brown another Tag listener and went on to start recording and releasing the Geek Fallout podcast in late 2012.

Its funny, my original idea for the show was to be monthly or biweekly but after recording the first few episodes we were having too much fun so we decided to make it a weekly show.

A few months later my wife and I found out we would be having a second child so I decided I needed to step back from the show. While I still tried to help out as much as I could it was hard with two jobs, a son and a pregnant wife.

Then a few months ago I decided to try to start blogging again, and thus the Geek Fallout blog was born in May of 2013.

I still have many ideas and aspirations for Geek Fallout for the future and hope to return as a full time host again one day but I am happy that I was able to find a couple of great guys who have kept my vision for the show going without me.

Richard
@riche_613

