image

So the Iron Man 3 trailers have been out for a while now and it looks pretty good. Hopefully it will be better than the second film was, and I guess we won’t have to wait long to find out as it will be in theaters here May 3rd. The trailers show some of the cool suits of armor we will see and yes I too can’t wait to see Pepper Potts as a superhero. But when I look at the new Thor 2 trailer that has recently been released I’m actually less excited about IM3. I don’t know what it is exactly. Maybe its the fact that this is the third movie in the series so I know the character better and am less excited for a third romp in that world than I am for diving into Asgard again. Maybe its the fact that IM2, while good, wasn’t what is should and could have been. But I must say the Thor 2 trailer looks amazing to me and I would much rather see that in a week than IM3.

On a darker but related note, I read the other day that both Robert Downy and Gwyneth Paltrows contracts are done after IM3 and that the rumor is that Robert Downy Jr might be done with the Iron man role and Paltrow said she will do what ever Downey does.

I don’t know about you, but I am really torn on this. On one hand, he’s fucking Iron Man now! On the other maybe by the time IM3 comes out we will have gone far enough with that character and maybe it will be time to bring in some new blood and new characterd to the Marvel/Avengers franchise. One thing I did hear along with this rumor is that he may be using this statement as a bargaining chip to get more money out of them for more films, which is fine I guess. I just don’t want them to end up getting a brand new actor for a Avengers 2 film. Leven Feige has even gone on record saying the Iron Man role could be treated like James Bond with new actors coming in to play the role every few movies. If Downey does decide to leave Marvel behind I certainly hope that if they want to continue with the Iron Man character that they will be smart enough to let the franchise sit for a few years before bringing in someone new.

What do you think of the 2013 Marvel movies? Which are you most excited for? And what do you think Downy and or Marvel should do post Iron Man 3? Let me know in the comments below.

Richard
@riche_613

